NEW THIS MORNING: Central Oregon Fire Season Begins Monday

Oregon Department of Forestry’s (ODF) Central Oregon District will implement Fire Season Monday June 10, 2019 at 12:01 a.m. The Central Oregon District includes approximately 2.3 million acres of private, state, and municipally owned forestland throughout central Oregon. Fire Season declaration heightens awareness of increasing hazardous fuel conditions and fire growth potential in wildland fuels. “Late May rain really helped reduce the fire risk in our fuels but the recent warming trend is quickly drying fuels again and with limited moisture in the forecast it is unlikely that the risk will drop again.” states Rob Pentzer, District Forester for Central Oregon. Fire season in the District typically starts early to mid-June based on current conditions and forecasted weather. In 2018 June 1st marked the start of fire season.

With the implementation of fire season, logging and other industrial operations must meet requirements for fire prevention, such as fire tools, water supply, and watchman service when those operations are occurring on lands protected by ODF. In addition to fire season restrictions, Industrial Fire Precaution Level 1 (IFPL) will be in effect for lands protected by ODF in Hood River and Wasco counties. Details for fire season and IFPL requirements are available at, or contact your local Department of Forestry office for more information.

Campfires are currently still allowed, but should be DEAD OUT! and cool to the touch when you leave. The use of tracer ammunition and exploding targets is prohibited during fire season. Sky lanterns and other luminaries are prohibited at all times in Oregon.

Year to date for 2019 there have been fourteen human caused fires burning more than fifteen acres within the District. Nine of these fires are linked to escape debris burns. Landowners who burned earlier this winter or spring should check their burn piles and verify there is no longer heat in the burned area. Burn barrels are allowed by permit in The Dalles Unit (Wasco and Hood River counties) until 11:00 a.m. through June 30th. However open burning is no longer permitted across the District.